CPRsouth 2016 Young Scholar Awards

Following highly successful joint Afro-Asian CPR conferences in Mauritius in 2012, and India in 2013, CPRafrica and CPRsouth formally merged under the banner of CPRsouth in 2014. Since then, CPRsouth has hosted conferences in the Cradle of Humankind in South Africa (2014), and at the Innovation Center for Big Data and Digital Convergence at Yuan Ze University, Taiwan (2015).

This year’s conference is co-hosted by COSTECH and TCRA in Zanzibar from 8-10 September. It will include sessions on cutting-edge developments in ICT policy and regulation in the South and discussion of the research-policy interface.

As part of the capacity building initiative, 30 Young Scholars from Africa and the Asia-Pacific region have been selected to participate in a tutorial programme. They will be taught by recognised scholars and practitioners from Africa and Asia, and will be attending the main conference thereafter.  Congratulations to the Young Scholars of 2016:

Ms Thuy Duong Nguyen Vietnam
Mr Halefom Abraha Ethiopia
Mr Akwasi Sarpong Ghana
Mr Shoban Badgujar India
Mr Amber Sinha India
Mr Jibak Dasgupta India
Mr Ashish Kumar Rathoré India
Ms Rohini Lakshané India
Mr Jaspreet Singh India
Ms Vidushi Marda India
Ms Anushruti Vagrani India
Ms Tarunima Prabhakar India
Ms Riva Jalipa Kenya/Philippines
Ms Karen Sowon Kenya
Ms Emmy Chirchir Kenya
Mr Fillemon Shilongo Namibia
Ms Hafeni Mthoko Namibia
Mr Bipin Aryal Nepal
Dr Tunde Akanni Nigeria
Mr Muhammad Salman Khalid Pakistan
Mr Umair Ali Pakistan
Ms Rosalie Dolor Philippines
Mr Tsietsi Jacob Medupe South Africa
Ms Nozibele Gcora South Africa
Mr Broc Rademan South Africa
Ms Tigist Hussen South Africa/Ethiopia
Dr Carlos Rey-Moreno South Africa/Spain
Mr Zororo Mavindidze South Africa/Zimbabwe
Mr Stephen Bitrus South Korea/Nigeria
Mr Tumennast Erdenebold South Korea
Ms Danendri Senanayake Sri Lanka
Ms Gloria Kembabazi Uganda
Mr Fargani Tambeayuk United Kingdom/Cameroon